Who are we and what do we do?

TESL Angel 1 2581s

We are mostly TESOL concentration students eager to serve the community through our professional training. We organize voluntary teaching programs to help people with their English. We have experience in carrying out teaching programs on and off campus. Full-time employees working in the International Center and Horizon Cove were the first two groups who benefited from our programs. Want to experience real-life teaching? Join us now! 

   

Events

2015.02 – 2015.05

In this semester, many of us were very excited to launch and implement a new TESOL Angel project in which we provided tutorials for foreign interns from the English Learning Centre (ELC) to facilitate their Chinese/Putonghua learning on a one-to-one basis. Through our bilingual interactions with the foreign interns in this project, we could not only help them enhance their Chinese/Putonghua proficiency but we could also improve our English proficiency. Towards the end of this semester, we were really pleased to get the feedback that the foreign interns enjoyed participating in this project, and one of them even sent us a thank-you card and a present to express his gratitude. 

TESL_angel_Terra.jpg TESL_angel_Virginia.jpg TESL_angel_Lily.jpg

 

2011.10---2011.12

Based on our previous successful experience, we established a new project working with staff from UIC departments. Participants of the new project were from the Academic Registry (AR), Student Affairs Office (SAO), Integrated Service Office (ISO), Medical and Health Education Office (MHEO) and Learning Resources Centre (LRC). Our TESOL Angels designed and prepared the learning materials for each meeting to cater for the individual language needs and English proficiency levels of the participants.

1_1.jpg 1_2.jpg 1_3.jpg

 

2011.09---2011.12

The project with WPE (Whole Person Education) department resumed. Each TESOL Angel worked with a participant in a two-hour meeting per week to revise learning materials, improve vocabulary and hold conversations in English with the participant.

2_1.jpg 2_2.jpg 2_3.jpg 2_4.jpg

 

2011.02---2011.05

We tutored some teachers from WEP (Whole Person Education) department with their English in form of one-to-one and group meetings. Every group meeting was to revise and check the progress of the students within a week and gave them a task for the next week. Tutor and students found a time which worked for them in private and finish the given task.

 

2011.02---2011.05

We helped staff in the Greenwood Gourmet (located in Cultural Village) with their English so that they could provide better services in English to UIC teachers and students.

4_1.jpg 4_2.jpg 4_3.jpg 4_4.jpg

 

2010.09 ---2010.12

We tutored middle school and elementary school students in the close neighborhood with their English according to school books. This one-to-one form of tutorial favore with students because it made them more comfortable to speak out and ask all kinds of questions. At the same time, TESOL ANGELs have gained great experience of dealing with elementary and middle school students and learnt useful methods and strategies of teaching English as a second language.

5_1.jpg 5_2.jpg 5_3.jpg 5_4.jpg

我们是谁?有什么使命?

SAM_2581s.jpg

我 们大部分都是英语教学的学生,热衷于利用所学到的专业知识服务社区。我们组织自愿式的教学项目帮助社区内有需要的人提高他们的英语能力。无论在校内或校外组织 教学项目,我们都有丰富的经验。国际交流中心和海怡湾畔的全职员工是首批受益于我们英教天使所提供的自愿式教学服务。英语专业的同学们,想要体验真实的 教学吗?快来加入我们英教天使的自愿团队吧!

 

相关活动

2015.02 – 2015.05

在 本学期,我们非常兴奋地开展一项新的教学天使项目-以一对一的方式,给英语语言中心的外国实习生进行普通话辅导。通过和外国实习生的双语互动,我们不但能 够帮助他们提高普通话水平,而且还能提高我们自身的英语能力。在学期末,我们很高兴地听到外国实习生的反馈说他们非常享受参与本项目,其中有一位外国实习 生还送给我们致谢卡以表感谢。

                       TESL_angel_Lily.jpgTESL_angel_Terra.jpgTESL_angel_Virginia.jpg

2011.10---2011.12
基于之前的成功经验,我们又成立了新的英语教学项目帮助来自我校的各大部门的员工,包括教务处、学生事务处、综合服务办事处、医疗及健康教育中心、学习资源中心。我们英教天使设计及准备每一课的教学材料,针对不同学员的英语水平,以满足每一位学员的语言需求。


                     1_1.jpg 1_2.jpg 1_3.jpg

2011.09---2011.12
辅导全人教育部教职员的英语教学项目恢复如常运行。每个星期,英教天使都会给学员进行两个小时的一对一辅导,辅导内容包括复习、提高学员的词汇量和练习用英语会话交流。


2_1.jpg2_2.jpg2_3.jpg2_4.jpg

2011.02---2011.05 
我们以一对一或小组形式给全人教育部的一些教职员提供英语辅导。英教天使在每次小组辅导中都会跟进学员该周的学习进度,然后布置下一周的任务。随后,英教专业系天使和学员找一个双方都合适的时间一起完成所布置的任务。

2011.02---2011.05 
英教天使帮助学校文化小镇里的大家乐餐厅员工提高他们的英语水平,以便他们能更好地用英语服务我校不懂汉语的海外员工和学生。 


4_1.jpg4_2.jpg4_3.jpg4_4.jpg

2010.09 ---2010.12    
英教天使给我校附近的中小学生提供以学校教科书为主的英语辅导。这种一对一式的辅导有利于提高学生说口语和提问的信心。透过此志愿服务,英教天使自己也从中获得了许多跟中小学校学生打交道的丰富经验和熟悉运用英语教学策略技巧的机会。 


5_1.jpg5_2.jpg5_3.jpg5_4.jpg