During the second semester of each year, Year-3 and Year-4 TESOL students will complete a two-week Language-Teaching Practicum in some public primary or middle schools in Zhuhai, whereas Year-3 and Year-4 EPC students will take Editing and Publishing Practicum throughout the semester to publish an interdisciplinary magazine. These courses provide hands-on training for students in their professional field under the supervision of academic staff and/or on-site supervisors.

Besides, students of all concentrations can take 160-hour internship at a company or organization during the summer vacation between the third year and the fourth year of study. The placements must be related to the student’s concentration area. Within the company or organization, students will work under the supervision of an on-site supervisor, who will provide formal feedback and evaluation.

 

Partner Companies/Organizations

  • Tangguoan Memorial Primary School
  • Yungwing International Kindergarten
  • Four-Point Education Coordination Office, UIC
  • Doumen Experimental Primary School
  • Jing'an No.1 Primary School

 

Student Sharing After Completing Internship

Lynn (CELL, 2015 cohort)

Participating in Internship at the New Oriental Education Institution, Guangzhou Campus in July & August 2018

In the past two months, I served as an English teaching assistant in the New Oriental Education Institution. This was so amazing to me since it was my first working experience. During this internship, I was mainly responsible for several tasks: preparing the lectures, being an online teaching assistant and an oral English teacher. These duties allowed me to gain experience in different departments and to learn more comprehensive knowledge about being a teacher. As an oral English teacher, I completed 60 oral tests for 60 students. During the oral interviews I evaluated the students’ English ability and recommended them different levels of courses according to their language proficiency. At the beginning, I was shy but this experience gave me the confidence to be a professional teacher. The role of an online English teaching assistant was more challenging as I needed to handle complicated interpersonal relationships. I had to contact the instructors on a daily basis, and learn their course schedules, students’ performances as well as their daily-assigned homework. I also supervised students to finish their daily homework and encouraged them to do better. Gaining parents’ trust was even more difficult, especially from demanding parents. When my effort was appreciated and recognized by my supervisors, students and their parents, and the class instructor at the end of the class, I felt contented. In conclusion, this internship offered me a precious opportunity to work, to learn, and to be a better person.

   Zhang Weilin
 

 

Elva (CELL, 2015 cohort)

Participating in Internship at YungWing International Kindergarten in July & August 2018

I worked as a teaching assistant at Zhuhai YungWing International Kindergarten, where I met the loveliest children in the world. My responsibilities at the kindergarten were to help the teachers organize class activities, maintain class disciplines, and look after the children, such as changing their clothes, putting them to sleep, distributing their food, etc. In addition, I needed to take photos of class activities and then upload them to the class’ WeChat group. I worked about 9 hours per day, from 8 am when children started to arrive at the classroom, to 5 pm when the parents came to pick up their kids. Although the job was tiring, I did not regret my choice. I have gained much valuable experience this summer, which I could not have obtained in campus. Nevertheless, I cannot deny that getting along with children is not always an easy thing. The most important thing I have learned during my internship is patience. As a kindergarten teacher, I must have patience to deal with children’s behaviors and requests. Also, being active is crucial. I should devote myself in the teaching process and attend the children’s needs at all times. This internship is of high importance as it has helped me to realize my weaknesses and strengths. Since I intend to work in the education field in the future, this experience definitely served as a platform to prepare myself for these challenges. I have learned how to be a good teacher, as well as a positive communicator. My internship at Zhuhai YungWing International Kindergarten has been a very special and memorable experience.

   Wang Gefan
 

 

Maggie (TESL, 2014 cohort)

Participating in Internship at Yungwing International Kindergarten in July & August 2017

I learned a lot from this internship. I know how to get along with the children and their parents. And I learned a lot from the teachers. We also stayed in the office for a week and arranged the files that they gave children lessons and made PPTs. It was not fun as being a teacher and playing with kids, but it was not a difficult job. I really enjoyed working here and I hope I can be a good kindergarten teacher in the future.

   Maggie 2014cohort 

 

Youth (CELL, 2014 cohort)

Participating in Internship in Zhuhai Children Protection Association in July & August 2017

Participating in Internship in China Merchants Foundation and UIC MPRO in 2016

I started my Internship from the second year of my college. I have always been interested in Non-Governmental Organization and public welfare. What I found most beneficial to my career plan was Dr. Lowe’s Speech and Oral Communication course. He conducted interviews and taught us various interview techniques. In his Advanced English Composition course, Dr. Lowe also spent plenty of time listening to my thoughts and helped me to organise ideas. I have gained valuable experience of how to organize my own thinking and then produce logical outcomes. This is of vital importance for me at work. And what I appreciated most was Dr. Lowe's patience. Whenever I had questions in my study or career, he was always there to help me deal with them. The most important skill I learned was that, I can read foreign literature with less difficulties after my four-year study in the college. This skill will not only enhance my academic ability, it will also enable me to acquire a lot of foreign experiences in my life time. Currently, I am working in a charity organisation called Shaoguan Rural Revitalization Foundation. There might be differences between what I am currently doing and what most literature students would choose to embark on after graduation, but I believe that the critical thinking and writing skills I have gained from CELL programme will enable me to be competent in any field of specialisation.

   Yao Yutong
 

 

Student Sharing After Completing Language-Teaching Practicum

Shirley (TESL, 2014 cohort)

Participating in Language-Teaching Practicum I at Zhuhai Xiangzhou No. 2 Primary School in March 2017

This teaching practicum has left me with an unforgettable experience. Whenever I recall my two-week teaching period, the smiling faces of my students will always flood into my mind, which gives me a sense of achievement. Before my teaching practicum, I never expected myself to be a teacher. But now, I have a strong desire to continue my teaching work. However, teaching really requires experience and there are a lot efforts that I need to make in the future.

   Shirley 

 

Ryan (TESL, 2013 cohort)

Participating in Language-Teaching Practicum II at Zhuhai No. 8 Middle School in March 2017

Two weeks of language teaching practicum enriched my understanding of pedagogical theories. Firstly, I realized the gap between teaching theories and classroom practice. Moreover, teaching approaches should be tailored to the needs of specific schools, classes and students. Therefore, it is important to know students’ English proficiency before starting to teach. Lesson preparations should be based on their English proficiency. It is necessary to master the skills of dealing with unexpected situations in the classroom as well. Moreover, giving appropriate homework and feedback are also essential for effective teaching and learning. These experiences provided me with an insight into real English teaching, which are precious for my future career in teaching.

   Ryan剪切 

 

Dio (TESL, 2013 cohort)

Participating in Language-Teaching Practicum I in Zhuhai No. 8 Middle School in March 2016

During the 2-week practicum, I observed my mentor teacher’s classes and delivered lessons to my students. Although I was frustrated sometimes when students were unresponsive or uncooperative, I still learnt many things which I might not able to learn from textbook theories. Many of my ideas which I took for granted before changed after the practicum because I found these ideas didn’t work in real classes. The precious experience helped me improve my own teaching quite a lot. Being a teacher in the future, I may feel frustrated sometimes, but I will learn from the less successful experience and get improved in my own teaching.

   Dionysus剪切1

每个学年的第二学期,英语教学专修的三年级和四年级学生都会在珠海几所公立小学或中学进行为期两周的“语言教学实习”;而专业英语传意专修的大三、大四学生则通过整个学期的“编辑及出版实习” 出版一本跨学科杂志。 在教学导师和实习指导老师的指导下,这些课程为学生提供在相关专业领域中的实践体验。

此外,所有专修的学生在大三升大四的暑假期间均可进行160个小时在单位或机构的实习。这些岗位都必须与学生的专修领域有相关性。学生们在这些单位与机构里进行实习,由单位或机构的导师现场指导、给予正规的实习反馈和实习评估。

伙伴单位与机构:

  • 唐国安纪念学校
  • 珠海容闳国际幼稚园
  • UIC 四维教育协调处
  • 斗门区实验小学
  • 斗门区井岸镇第一小学

 

学生完成“实习”课程后的分享

张蔚琳 (2015届CELL)

2017年7、8月于新东方教育机构广州分校参与实习

在过去的两个月里,我一直在新东方教育机构担任英语教师助理。这对我来说是一次非常棒的体验,因为这是我的第一次工作经历。这次实习期间,我主要负责以下几项任务: 准备讲座,担任英语口语教师和在线教师助理。这些职责使我能够体验不同部门的工作,并更加全面地学习到如何成为一名优秀的教师。作为一名英语口语教师,我在实习期间的两个月内为60名学生完成了60次口语测试。通过个人爱好和未来计划等十个问题的沟通,我评估了学生们的英语能力,并向他们推荐了符合他们英语水平的课程。刚着手这项工作时,我像一个害羞的小女孩,经过一段时间的经验积累,我就可以像一位专业老师一样精明干练。在线英语教师助理的工作更具有挑战性,因为我需要处理复杂的人际关系。我必须每天直接联系教师,熟悉他们的课程安排,了解学生的表现和他们每天需要完成的家庭作业。然后我需要监督学生完成他们的日常家庭作业,并鼓励他们不断做得更好。与此同时,获得学生父母的信任就更加困难,尤其是那些过度关心孩子的父母们。在课程结束时,我的主管,班主任,学生家长和学生对我的努力工作表示赞赏和认可的时候,我为自己感到骄傲。总之,这次实习为我提供了工作,学习和创造价值的宝贵机会。

   Zhang Weilin
 

 

王舸帆 (2015届TESL)

2017年7、8月于珠海容闳国际幼儿园参与实习

我在珠海容荣国际幼儿园担任助教,在那里,我遇到了世界上最可爱的孩子。我在幼儿园的职责是帮助教师组织课堂活动和维持课堂纪律。除了这些,我还需要照顾孩子,比如换衣服,让他们睡觉,分发食物等。另外,我需要拍摄课堂活动的照片,然后挑选好的发到班级的微信群里。我每天工作9个小时,从孩子们8点到教室直到下午5点父母们陆续来接孩子。虽然工作确实让我有时累,但我并不后悔自己的选择。今年夏天,我收获了很多在校园里无法获得的宝贵经验。然而,我不得不说与孩子们相处并不总是一件容易的事。由于他们年龄太小,对一些观念和纪律缺乏正确的理解,导致他们在日常生活中会犯下各种错误。实习期间,我学到的最重要的经验就是要有耐心。作为幼儿园老师,我必须要有足够的耐心来面对孩子们的各种行为和处理他们的种种要求。此外,我个人的积极性也至关重要。我应该全身心地投入到教学过程中,更积极主动地回答孩子们的需求。但是,从这个意义上讲,我认为自己表现欠佳。这次实习经历对我来说非常重要,因为它帮助我认识了自己的弱点和优点。我将来打算在教育领域工作,这种经历对我未来的职业生涯来说无疑是必不可少的。我学会了如何成为一名优秀的老师和积极的沟通者。在珠海容荣国际幼儿园的实习经历对我来说真的很特别也很难忘。

  
 Wang Gefan

 

张晓琳 (2014届TESL)

2017年7、8月于珠海容闳国际幼儿园参与实习

在这次实习的过程中,我学到了很多。我学会了如何与孩子们还有家长们相处。与此同时, 我从老师们身上也学到了很多东西。我们在办公室一起备课和准备上课的材料。我觉得作为幼儿园老师,不是难事也不是易事。我非常享受在这里的工作,并且希望未来可以在这里做幼儿教师。

   Maggie 2014cohort 

 

姚雨彤 (2014届CELL)

2017年7、8月于珠海儿童保护协会参与实习

2016年于招商局慈善基金会和UIC新闻公关处参与实习

我从大学二年级开始实习。我一直对非政府组织和公共福利的工作非常感兴趣。我认为对我的职业规划最有益的是Lowe博士的言语和口语交流课程。他进行了采访,并教了我们各种面试技巧。在他的高级英语作文课程中,Lowe博士也花了很多时间倾听我的想法并帮助我对想法进行分类。我学会了如何组织自己的思维并使之更加有理有据富有逻辑性。这对我后来的工作至关重要。我最欣赏的是Lowe博士的耐心。每当我在学习或职业生涯中遇到问题时,他总是在那里并且愿意帮助我。更重要的是,经过四年的学习,我可以毫无困难地阅读国外文献。这种习惯不仅可以不断提高我的学术能力,还可以让我在未来的人生中汲取很多外国的经验。现在,我在韶关农村振兴基金会工作。我在大学学到的知识和我的实际工作之间似乎存在一种差异。但是,我确信我所积累的知识会让我终身受益。

   Yao Yutong 

 

学生完成“语言教学实习”课程后的分享

杨雪然(2014届TESL)

2017年3月于珠海市香洲第二小学参与语言教学实习 I

两周的实习给我留下了深刻的印象。那是一段挥之不去的难忘的经历,每当我回想起这段时光,我的嘴角总会浮现出一丝微笑,脑海中也会涌现出二小的鸟语花香和孩子们的音容笑貌。经过这次实习,我更加笃定了自己未来的教师方向,我将在这条道路坚定不移地走下去,将知识和爱传向远方。

   Shirley 

 

姚登明 (2013届TESL)

2017年3月于珠海第八中学参与语言教学实习 II

从二月二十七号到三月十号,我在珠海市第八中心进行了第二次受益匪浅的实习。虽然实习仅仅两周,还是从我的指导老师那里学到了很多东西。从她那里我知道一堂课不是孤立的,课前针对学生的进度备课、课时活跃的课堂气氛和有趣的活动、课后有巩固和预习双作用的作业。因此,在实际教学之前了解学生的情况变得非常重要。所有的教学计划都必须根据学生的具体情况。当然,处理课堂上的一些突发状况也是很有必要的。能设置适当的作业和反馈更是一堂好课的基本条件。这些经历都使得我对英语教学有了更深的看法,也更一步明确了我未来的师范梦。

   Ryan剪切 

 

李明禹 (2013届TESL)

2016年3月于珠海第八中学参与语言教学实习I

在这两个星期的实习中,我观察了我的导师的授课过程并给我的学生讲授了几堂课。虽然有时学生的不配合使我压力很大,但我还是学习到了许多从课本理论中学不 到的东西。在亲身经历了授课之后,许多我以前认为理所当然的想法改变了,因为我发现这些想法在实战教学中并没有起到很大的作用。这些宝贵的经历在很大程度 上帮助我提高了我的教学水平。在以后作为一名老师的职业生涯中,我或许有时会因压力而沮丧,但是我仍然会从中汲取教训、累积经验、然后进一步提高我的教学质量。    Dionysus剪切1