Our division houses six programmes belonging to three general categories of traditional learning: language/literature, communication, and sociology/social work.  These areas of expertise, which used to be compartmentalized in terms of perception and pedagogy, have increasingly tended to cross boundaries to interact with each other within the division as well as with the programmes outside of the division.  Staff and students of our division have been cultivating a consciousness of reaching out to other areas of expertise than their own, to respond to new trends such as social management, digital media, etc.  With this burgeoning consciousness which echoes the whole person education objective of UIC, we strive to nurture well rounded future leaders who can relate themselves to as many facets of the world as we have tried to prepare them.  I hope you share the same vision and enthusiasm with us.  Welcome to UIC.

    

Prof. Chen Zhi

Prof. Chen is an internationally acclaimed scholar and researcher in Chinese Studies. His diversified interests in Chinese Studies include classical studies and early Chinese culture and history, historical writings, traditional Chinese poetry, excavated documents and paleography: bronze inscriptions and bamboo and silk writings, and intellectual history of the Ming and Qing dynasty.  

In addition to his remarkable scholarship, Prof. Chen is also an experienced university administrator. Apart from being the Head of Department of Chinese in HKBU between 2010 and 2013, Prof. Chen was Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts between 2015 and 2017, held the Associate Directorship of Institute of Creativity between 2011 and 2017 as well as the Directorship of Mr. Simon Suen and Mrs. Mary Suen Sino-Human Institute between 2011 and 2014. Between 2012 and 2014, Prof. Chen was appointed Acting Director of Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology and became the Director from 2014 to present.

     Prof ChenZhi

人文与社会科学学部致力于提供优质的专业教育。课程设置涵盖多个大类及专业领域,包括:英语语言文学、应用翻译学、社会工作与社会行政学、全球化与发展、媒体与传播、公共关系与广告学。六个专业各具特色,但共同扎基于语言和文化的研究与应用。学部专业课程按现时社会对以上专业人才的需求而设置,学生可根据个人志趣及未来事业发展取向,做出最合适的选择。学部另设置外语中心,向全校学生提供第二外语(法、西、德、日、韩、俄)和文化的基础教学。

在博雅及全人教育的理念下,学部致力于训练学生充分掌握专业知识,培养分析及解决问题的能力,使成为实干、独立、自信、创新且具有国际观的专业人才和未来领袖,服务社会及国家。目前,学部各个专业以不同形式的实习与实践训练来丰富学生的职场技能,提升竞争力。学部进一步加强各个专业之间的跨科际整合,并于课程中特别加强与新媒体相关的互联网传播知能训练。

学部持续优化教师队伍、提升教学及学术水平;各个专业亦加强与政府、企业部门在学术、科研以及专业培训方面的紧密合作,有助于毕业生朝向学术及产业方面的发展。学部配合学校的总体目标与使命,强调全人教育所涵盖的博雅素质与国际化视野,培育全球化的精英人才。每个专业的学生在教师的指导下,积极参加全国性、广东省以及粤港澳地区的专业竞赛,屡获佳绩。我们热忱欢迎优秀同学加入本学部,成为我们的新成员。

               

陈致教授

      陈致教授是国际知名的文史及汉学研究学者。他从事多领域的汉学研究,涵盖古典文学研究与中国早期文化与历史、中国古代诗歌、出土文献与古文字(金文与简帛文字),以及明清思想史。

      陈教授不仅学术成就卓著,还具备丰富的大学管理经验。2010年至2013年,陈教授任香港浸会大学中国语言文学系主任;2011年至2014年任孙少文伉俪人文中国研究所所长;2011年至2017年任创意研究院副院长;2012年至2014年出任饶宗颐国学院署理院长,并于2014年至今任饶宗颐国学院院长;2015年至2017年任文学院署理院长。

         Prof ChenZhi